Skip to content

What aren’t you reading?

by on June 22, 2017

“The Lord had said to Abram, “Leave your country, your people and your father’s household and go to the land I will show you. I will make you into a great nation and I will bless you; I will make your name great, and you will be a blessing. I will bless those who bless you and whoever curses you I will curse; and all people on earth will be blessed through you.” Genesis 12:1-3

Sometimes I think that we can get so used to reading through the stories in the Bible that we skim over the small parts that actually hold great significance. I am guilty of that. Truth is, we remember the majority of the stories by their major events; Adam and Eve falling into sin, Cain killing his brother Abel out of jealousy, Noah building the arch that would save him and his family from the flood, and Abraham entering into a covenant relationship with God. We remember the moral of the stories, which is good! But that also tends to pull our focus away from the small details within the story that actually hold significant weight. I was reading up on the story of Abraham and wanted to familiarize myself with the Abrahamic Covenant and found that, though I read the first verse, I did not even think twice about the reality of it.

“Leave your country, your people and your father’s household and go to the land I will show you.”

It was easy for me to read it and just keep going because I knew the end of Abraham’s story. He became the Father of all nations. He was given children and grand children. He was blessed with land along with the promise that his name would be great. I didn’t even think about how Abraham must have felt in that moment hearing what God requested of him.  “Leave your country, your people and your father’s household and go to the land I will show you.” If we were to put that into today’s terms, it may sound more like, “leave the relationships that have helped to shape and mold you as a person along with everything you spent your time investing in and go unknowingly in the direction of My choosing.”  WHAT?! Abraham was asked to start over! Not only that, he was asked to go without knowing where he would end up! Abraham knew that he was going to be taken care of because God told him that, but I imagine it was still an unbelievably hard experience he had to go through in leaving. He was courageous and obedient, whether he was happy in that time and state I don’t know. the Bible doesn’t tell us, but I do know that he set an example for anyone today that might be finding themselves in a time of transition and uncertainty. Did Abraham know where he was going? No. But he continued to follow and obey. He trusted that God would protect and provide for his life, just as He has called for us to do.

Now I would say that’s a pretty big lesson that I almost skipped over…

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. JulieH permalink

    Who is H. Virginia?

    Good tho’ts.

Leave a Reply

